“Love isn’t love until you give it away.”

I was listening to the music from Sound of Music (1. It’s amazing…but mainly 2. Lady Gaga’s performance was incredible and has it on my brain). In the Sixteen Going on Seventeen (reprise)…Julie Andrews’ Maria gives Liesl some simple…but incredible advice. That is… “a bell is no bell til you ring it, a song is no song til you sing it, and love in your heart wasn’t put there to stay…love isn’t love until you give it away.”

While I DEFINITELY recommend you go and listen to the rest of that beautiful song…I’d like to spend a few minutes really diving into this idea. Does love not actually exist until it is shown?

I’ve always wondered about this…because I think it is a beautiful idea. Love cannot exist without showing its face. If you feel compelled to hide love…does it really qualify as love? I’m not sure it does. I think that part of loving someone is wanting the best for them. And…I think a sort of appreciation for the person you love…whether shown with actions or words…is necessary in bringing them to be their best self.

I think love needs to be given away to be real…but does that mean it has to be shared? This brings me to another question.

Does love have to be reciprocated for it to be real?

I don’t have any sort of logical argument for this one. Is love really a feeling that has to flow in two directions? Is it really not possible for love to be one-way?

This seems silly to me. I think I actually believe you can love someone without having them love you. I don’t think it goes against any sort of “general love principle.” Apart from the fact that I don’t believe love has any general rules because everyone is different…I do acknowledge the fact that it has some general ‘guidelines.’ I’m wondering what the general thought on this quote is.

But yeah…I think it can be a singular thing. How do you explain people who are stuck pining after someone who doesn’t love them back? How do you explain Jesus and His recommendation to love everyone no matter what (especially your ‘enemies’).

What do you all think? I’m very interested. Indulge me please!

5 thoughts on ““Love isn’t love until you give it away.”

  1. I guess love does not need to be reciprocated for it to be real.
    Sometimes, I think that love becomes more real when you continue to love the other person despite not being loved back. In this circumstance, you somehow get the gauge of how much you love the other person. Of course it is a different thing when it becomes a desperate case.

    Loving also knows when it is better to give up. But less or no regrets since you at least tried to show your love in some way.

    You can try listening to Martina McBride’s “Anyway”. My favourite line of the song is, “You can love someone with all your heart, For all the right reasons, And in a moment they can choose to walk away, love ’em anyway”

    P.S. I’m not sure if you like this genre of music. But I guess you can give it a try.

    Hopefully this made sense.

    • Thank you for the awesome response! 🙂 I will definitely listen to the song. It was a perfect example. Could you possibly elaborate more on the “Loving also knows when it is better to give up part?” I love the way you phrased it…I’m totally interesting in hearing what you have to say on it…

      • Sometimes there are things I say, which I don’t really know about. I’m just kidding!
        Based on my experience, (though I’m technically not married nor super old) there were a couple of times when I felt I have really loved the other person, that I have tried to give my best foot forward just to maintain the relationship but still it wasn’t enough to sustain the whole thing. This is where the two-way kind of love applies. There was also a time when I had to let go of the person because of his other priorities in life such as migrating somewhere on the other side of the globe for his studies and family. I didn’t really have the choice but to give him up, because it will be better for both of us. It was when I realized that by Loving him, I also have to accept that I need to give up the relationship in order for him to reach his dreams and for me to continue growing more as a person as well.
        “Loving also knows when it is better to give up” in a perspective of loving oneself as well. Sometimes, when you have given too much of yourself, too much love to other people, you get to feel a “drained” part of yourself. And giving up such act of loving for the other person in order to fill yourself back will be better for yourself.

      • Cool! Kinda like…understanding love and what kind of relationship best shows your love (even if it’s not the ideal one) is an even stronger depth of love? I’m liking this. 🙂 Terribly sorry about the boy you had to give up. 😦

Leave a Reply

