Quote to Live By

This morning I woke up to a few of the daily emails I receive regularly. I went through my Skimm feed…giving me the daily news in snippets…and I went through my daily blog reminder, and eventually I finally got to the one I look most forward to…Gretchen Rubin’s Moment of Happiness for the day:

“Life has no other discipline to impose, if we would but realize it, than to accept life unquestioningly. Everything…we deny,denigrate or despise, serves to defeat us in the end. What seems nasty, painful, evil, can become a source of beauty, joy and strength, if faced with an open mind. Every moment is a golden one for him who has the vision to realize it as such.” -Henry Miller

Background before I go into the quote: I read Gretchen Rubin’s “The Happiness Project” over Christmas break this year…and it was AWESOME (I think you should all go do that…now!). In the book, she wrote about a blog she started…and I couldn’t help myself…I looked it up. Turns out…she has one!…and it’s awesome as well…http://www.gretchenrubin.com/ (check it out!). I signed up for some awesome daily emails…including the option to receive quotes about happiness EVERY day. You should sign up too! Her dedication is inspiring…and the quotes usually make my day.

Going back to the awesomeness that is the Henry Miller quote, though…What do y’all think?

Personally, I love this quote. I don’t know quite what to make of the beginning…but the last part has truly molded my day. Every moment I would become angry or flustered…I just thought about how precious a moment really is. How could I waste any moment angry when there are so limited a number of them? We have set, fixed day-numbered lives. We might as well live every moment for its beauty.

Because the beauty is what makes us smile, laugh, and appreciate…why don’t we look for it in all things and all times? We have been gifted brilliant minds…minds that are able to change our moods and feelings…why not use them to change perspectives…and make the ugly beautiful?

Then I think to myself…does anything actually exist ugly? Or…does it have an innate beauty…and we just look at it in a certain way that forces us to perceive it as ugly? I don’t know. Maybe I’m going too far with this. I’d love to hear your thoughts on this!

Leave a Reply

